Zesty Expired Yogurt Cheese

Step 1
Realize your husband never ate the plain organic yogurt he asked you to buy. You realize upon further inspection that it has in fact, never been opened.

Step 2. Ask why.

Step 3. Shrug and say eeh. Decide it is the perfect opportunity to make yogurt cheese even though you have never done so. You remember Sanford doing it one time…..

Step 4. Buy cheesecloth while at the grocery store because while you KNOW a dish towel or single-layer cloth diaper will work, believe said husband will be more likely to eat the cheese if you use cheesecloth.

Step 5. Open the yogurt and decide to flavor it with all the leftover taco salsas in the fridge.

Step 6. Sit down and type this while you remember any remnants of witty banter that passed through your head while stirring in the salsa.

What step am I on? Well it involves google and how to actually make yogurt cheese. I’m pretty sure you stretch cheesecloth over a bowl and let the liquid drip out…..I wonder how long it takes?

Okay, Alton Brown came up first and I know he is reliable so I’m putting 4 layers of cheesecloth over a colander, over a bowl, dumping the yogurt in and letting it sit in the fridge overnight.

Finishing tomorrow…..

WHOA!!! Wait a minute. That cheesecloth is one big piece? You mean I have to cut it or fold it or something? I think I might save that for another post. Now I’m whipping out an old thin cloth thank you very much.

insert picture …….

and viola! in the morning……

I think it will be good on top of curry.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Zesty Expired Yogurt Cheese

  1. Pete says:

    Wait, so you didn’t use the cheesecloth after all? Eeww, glad I read this before eating it.

  2. joy says:

    Molly! off to a great start. The blog I mean. And the cheese? Was it good?

Leave a Reply

